Thought Trafficking


Bring your winters in for cleaning before the snow flies
October 6, 2009, 4:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The new Mountain Goats album, The Life of the World to Come is to be released tomorrow. I strongly urge you to check it out.

I am currently re-reading a script that Cixous wrote for Mnouchkine’s Théatre du Soleil. Love. Here is why, in several unconnected citations:

Aeschylus: I’ll look for my dictionaries. /Experience has taught me / That pain needs numerous synonyms.

Madame Lion: Proof of telephone calls? No. I should have thought of that. One should never cry out in cries, on the air, by telephone. Everything should be cried out by letter.

Madame Lion: This non-signature shines before me like a flag. / How alone I am! Farewell my brothers and masters, / I see you bolt away. All is fear and cowardice, / There is no love. The Night is beautiful, / And they do not even watch it breathe. / I believe I am about to be born.

Mother: Later on, I will build for you / A temple with silence, / A tribunal with silence, / A theatre with silence, / But if I create all these silences / Who, among you, will cry out? / I’m going to put my words, my thoughts, my angers / Underground, beneath your feet. / But out of this earth pregnant with my secrets / The tree of cries must grow. Or else, / Never again will a human being with light-filled eyes / Come to maturity in this country.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

