Thought Trafficking


and tear your curtains down / for sunlight is like gold
January 13, 2010, 5:17 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

2009 was an interesting year, mostly amazing for the concerts especially.

Taking stock,

February was a Jeffrey Foucault and Kris Delmhorst double-bill with Basit, and May was the East-coast premier of Arvo Pärt’s latest symphony, as well as Pierre Boulez at Carnegie Hall with Jack.

The music and the company, in each case, was exceptional. Of the books that I read, Annie Dillard’s The Living was my favourite.

My father figured out what was wrong with my spinning wheel and finally made it spin.

I moved a total of four times. I went to the US for concerts three times. I defended my MA.

I can’t really think of too many other things to say. I have heard people say, “Thank goodness this year is over,” and “Thank goodness this decade is over,” as though we can contain misery by binding off a year. It wasn’t all misery; it wasn’t all joy. These things don’t come out so cleanly.

Soon, when I’m finished with other responsibilities, I want to write about the Edmonton Symphony’s performance of some early Beethoven works on the weekend.

I’m walking on moon beams
and staring out to sea

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

